Career Connecting: Reaching the Unreachables

I have been following Necole of NecoleBitchie.com since 2009 through both her personal blog and celebrity news site. What I love about Necole is that she is open about her journey to her own success. Necole worked as a producer in radio and attempted to work for record labels to fulfill her desire of being involved in the entertainment industry.  She faced many rejections and obstacles which you can learn more about through her bio.

Today, she is well known in the urban entertainment industry having been recognized in major magazines with a spot on Ebony’s top 100 bloggers and features in Vibe. She also received the Soul Train award for Best Soul Site and was the first “blogger” to appear on BET’s nationally syndicated 106 &Park.

She is a unique public figure that has expanded her celebrity news brand and used it to encourage women to read, be confident in their own skin, and be professional in all that they do.

Necole’s most recent (personal) blog post titled “Does This Office Thing Work?” highlights her latest commitment: a transition of working from home to having her own office space that will house her and her employees. I realized that I would enjoy working for Necole out of undergraduate school and that reaching out to her may not be the hardest thing to do, that it may be possible if I simply tried.

I often felt discouraged from applying to jobs at some of the most popular television networks and companies such as BET , OWN, PopSugar, and HuffPostWomen. Especially after reading articles and listening to career coaches speak about how the most effective way to find work is by “knowing someone who knows someone”. I have found that statement to be true in many cases but it does not mean I should keep myself from reaching out to complete strangers who have inspired me through their work.

I am going to put aside a couple of hours this week and use one of the most powerful influences of our generation (social media) to reach out to women in the media & journalism field who I would like to have informational interviews with. You can click the names below to find out who some of them are and what kind of work they do.

1. Lala

2. Jennifer Pons

3. Valeisha Butterfield-Jones

“People are rooting for you, and they want to help.” -Heidi Robinson, Wake Forest University

Leave a comment